Advisory Board

Professor Emma Guttman-Yassky, M.D. & Ph.D. is the Sol and Clara Kest Professor of Dermatology and Immunology, Vice Chair of the Department of Dermatology, and Director of the Center for Excellence in Eczema and Laboratory of Inflammatory Skin Diseases at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, USA. Dr. Guttman’s major research focus is atopic dermatitis (AD), a disease in which she has made paradigm-shifting discoveries on pathogenesis, opening the door to new therapeutics. Her past work in AD includes comprehensive molecular mapping, defining skin differentiation and immune-circuits, establishing differences between disease endotype, molecular reversal of disease, and identification of biomarkers. She is now focusing on testing therapeutics for AD that target Th2, Th22, and Th17/IL-23 axis, and identifying possible novel therapeutic targets in alopecia areata.
Dr. Guttman co-founded the International Eczema Council, the largest organization for key opinion leaders in eczema/atopic dermatitis, and was elected its President in June 2018. Her other society work includes the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Dermatological Society, and was recently elected to the American Skin Association board.

Professor Donald Y.M. Leung, MD. Ph.D. is highly recognized for his work on immune mechanisms of atopic dermatitis, mechanisms of skin infection and corticosteroid resistant asthma.Dr. Leung serves as Edelstein Chair of Pediatric Allergy at National Jewish Health and Professor of Pediatrics at University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine. He was an associate professor at Harvard Medical School in Pediatrics (1987). Between 1998-2015, he was Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. Dr. Leung is the author of more than 600 publications, has been the recipient of more than 35 NIH grants and 20 patents. In 2004-present, he was appointed Principal Investigator of the NIH/NIAID Atopic Dermatitis Research Network to study mechanisms underlying bacterial and viral infections in atopic dermatitis. In 2012, he was awarded the AAAAI Distinguished Service Award for his contributions as Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. In 2018, he received the AAAAI Distinguished Scientist Award for his work in Atopic Dermatitis.

Professor Martin Steinhoff, M.D. Ph.D. M.Sc. is Professor and Chair at the Dept. of Dermatology and Venerology at Hamad Medical Corporation, Clinical Professor of Dermatology at Qatar University, Weill-Cornell University-Qatar and Weill-Cornell University New York, USA. He is also Director of the HMC Translational Research Institute and the Skin Immunology Center-of-Excellence in Qatar. Professor Steinhoff studied Medicine and Human Biology in Germany where he received his, M.D. MSc. and Ph.D. from the University of Marburg, Germany. He holds board certificates in dermatology, venereology, phlebology and allergy. Before Prof. Martin joined HMC and Weill Cornell University, he was Full Professor at the University of California San Francisco, USA, and Chairman at University College Dublin, Ireland. His clinical fields of interests are chronic inflammatory skin diseases and immunotherapies. Prof. Steinhoff was involved in development of skin therapies like anti-IL31, for example. He published more than 200 articles and received various prestigious research awards, and is honorary member of various dermatology societies. He received more than 68 Mio Euro grant funding in last 20 years. He holds 11 patents with academia and industry.

Professor Jacob Thyssen, MD, Ph.D. DmSci, is Professor of Clinical Dermatology at the University of Copenhagen and Herlev-Gentofte Hospital where he serves on the faculty. He is a member of several societies and working groups including the International Eczema Council, the European Task Force on Atopic Dermatitis, European Society of Contact Dermatitis, and European Dermato-Epidemiology Network and takes part in guideline development. His primary scientific and clinical focus is eczema/dermatitis, filaggrin, psoriasis, and rosacea. He takes part in clinical development by consulting pharmaceutical companies. Dr. Thyssen graduated in Medicine from the University of Copenhagen and afterwards specialized in dermatology and venerology. He received his Ph.D. in allergy and dermatitis and subsequently obtained a DmSci within metal allergy. Dr. Thyssen has published in excess of 400 scientific papers and has received the LEO Pharma Research Foundation Gold Award and been elected future leader of dermatology by the ESDR.


Learn more